Ormskirk Quiz League

A member of the Merseyside Quiz Leagues

Highlights Don Liptrot Trophy Round 2

Unison, despite 18 points from Charles Johnson, were not able to pull back a lead of 31 points on Bispham Farmers Arms, for whom Jim Dawber scored 15.   Abbey Sinners had a three point start on Squigglers but they were caught in the last round losing by two; Barry Marshall scored 18 for the winners and Bill Gerrard 17 for the losers. Colly Wobblers made up their handicap of ten after 6 rounds but then Rugby Hounds recovered to win by two; Andy McGowan (Colly Wobblers) top scored with 17 points. Helenians increased their start of two on Ormskirk Tennis Club, winning by 13 eventually; Mike Flaherty led the scoring for Helenians with 16 points.

Don Liptrot Trophy

Round 2

Rugby Hounds v Colly Wobblers 56-54

Helenians v Ormskirk Tennis Club 61-48

Plate Round 1

Abbey Sinners v Squigglers 58-60

Bispham Farmers Arms v Unison 69-53

Highlights Don Liptrot Trophy Round 1

Ormskirk Tennis Club managed to hold on to their start of 11, beating Unison by 5 points; Paul Prior scored 20 for the winners and Alan Gibbs replied with 21 (and a full house) for Unison.   20 points from Pat Gibson helped Colly Wobblers overcome a handicap of 11 over Abbey Sinners, for whom Bill Gerrard scored 16.   Robin Hood overcame a handicap of 2 against Abbey Saints, to win by the narrowest of margins; Robin Hood were 6 points behind going into the last round but won it 9-2.   In the Bispham Farmers Arms against Helenians match, the scores were level after 8 rounds, Helenians having overturned a handicap of 18. It took a further two rounds to separate the teams with Helenians, for whom Mike Flaherty scored 19 and Dave Boyd 16, emerging as the winners.    Legion Lions had a start of 7 over Ormskirk Theatre Company but ended up winning by 13, thanks to 17 from Steve Garrett; Alan Thompson scored 21 for the Theatre Company.   Although Rugby Hounds had a two point start on Squigglers, they increased it to 8 by the end of the game; Eric Lupton (19) and David Hodgson (17) were the top scorers for the winners while Janet Crompton replied with 20 points for Squigglers.

Don Liptrot Trophy

Results from Round One

Colly Wobblers v Abbey Sinners 61-48

Rugby Hounds v Squigglers 62-54

Robin Hood v Abbey Saints 55-54

Legion Lions v Ormskirk Theatre Company 68-55

Bispham Farmers Arms v Helenians 71-73 after 10 rounds

Ormskirk Tennis Club v Unison 53-48

MIMIR Trophy

The final will be played in Hoylake on May 15th by four multiple winners, two from Ormskirk and two from Wirral. Pat Gibson (6 wins) and John Wilson (3 wins) will be joined by Karl Whelan, the holder, and Jim Eccleson (both 3 wins). The full results from the Merseyside heat are available on the MQL website.

Page 30 of 118 << < 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 60 90 > >>


  • Entries (590)